Nikon D7200 Preview

Featured Monday, 02 March 2015 07:59

Nikon calls it "Our most advanced DX-format DSLR" - But is it any good?

Share:

4 comments

  • Comment Link James Willerton Monday, 02 March 2015 16:39 posted by James Willerton

    It is hard to get excited about the D7200, as an incremental upgrade only.

    However, just as the D810 was incremental over the D800E, the point is that the original bodies were already among best in class.

    The D7100 is a little noisy and tends to underexpose - however it is a cracking camera. I wouldn't upgrade to the D7200 but for anyone not wanting to shoot sports or action professionally, who still wants to buy into a Canikon system, the D7xxx series remains compelling I think.

    Report
  • Comment Link Dr.Albert Monday, 02 March 2015 18:13 posted by Dr.Albert

    Another rip-off from Nikon. The extra ISO is not merited, except if you live in a cave...I Have the 7100 & D300S, & D3S.
    What else does one want to shoot images?
    I have had enough up-grades based on 25 years if using Nikon products... Give me a rebate on all owned products

    Report
  • Comment Link Caitli Tuesday, 03 March 2015 00:02 posted by Caitli

    Looks like a nice change for those who don't already have a DX format and want one with great features. 10fps on the Cannon doesnt interest me, the Sony, no...not enough good lenses from Sony, Pentax, again not enough good lenses from Pentax. Sure you could go to Tamron on Sigma, but build quality doesn't seem up to Canon and Nikon.
    D7200 or D610, now that becomes the real questions since the D7200 is listing at about $1200 and the D610 is about $1500. Dxo review on D610 makes it very tempting.

    Report
  • Comment Link SonyALpha Tuesday, 03 March 2015 03:12 posted by SonyALpha

    I wonder why people keep saying "no enough lenses from Sony" - can someone elaborate what is missing? You have Sony glass, Zeiss glass and then Minolta - are you saying those are not good quality? Really? What does average user need?

    Report

Leave a comment

Sony a6400 Complete Auto Focus, ISO & Time Lapse Testing

Sony a6400 Complete Auto Focus, ISO & Time Lapse Testing

Sunday, 03 February 2019 13:51

Sony claim the a6400 has the 'Worlds Fastest Autofocus' - and my first video split people - so here is my COMPLETE AF testing.

Read more...
3 Stop ND Filters Compared - $5 to $180

3 Stop ND Filters Compared - $5 to $180

Monday, 28 January 2019 21:41

Huge range in sharpness, color and vignetting on these 3 stop filters...

Read more...
50mm Showdown - f1.1 to f1.4 - $350 to $4,000 - M Mount

50mm Showdown - f1.1 to f1.4 - $350 to $4,000 - M Mount

Sunday, 20 January 2019 10:20

Comparing the 7 Artisans f1.1 $350 lens to the f1.1 Voigtlander, f1.4 Nikkor (adapted) and the $4,000 f1.4 Leica Summilux.

Read more...
10 Stop ND Filters Compared - $10 to $360

10 Stop ND Filters Compared - $10 to $360

Wednesday, 02 January 2019 22:54

I compare 15 filters, with a range of prices from $10 to $360 - and a big variation in build quality, color cast, sharpness and vignetting - it is worth seeing some real world results before buying anything.I compare 15 filters, with a range of prices from $10 to $360 - and a big variation in build quality, color cast, sharpness and vignetting - it is worth seeing some real world results before buying anything.

Read more...
Best & Worst of 2018 - Cameras, lenses, trends & more...

Best & Worst of 2018 - Cameras, lenses, trends & more...

Monday, 24 December 2018 23:14

 

2018 has been an epic year with some fantastic new gear announced - and some pretty crap stuff too! In this video I take you through my picks for the best, worst and most disappointing gear and trends of the year!

Read more...
Nikon Z7 vs D850 - What should you buy?

Nikon Z7 vs D850 - What should you buy?

Monday, 03 December 2018 19:46

The D850 is the culmination of decades of SLR refinement - the Z7 is the companies first full frame mirrorless - but it costs even more!

Read more...
Fujifilm X-T3 - Complete Review - World's Best APSC Camera?

Fujifilm X-T3 - Complete Review - World's Best APSC Camera?

Monday, 26 November 2018 17:01

This thing destroys the competition in many ways - GH5 beaten for video and ergonomics and the fuji optics are up there with the best of full frame!

Read more...
Canon EOS R - Studio Portraiture Review

Canon EOS R - Studio Portraiture Review

Sunday, 28 October 2018 12:32

The good, The Bad, and the Stupid....

Read more...
Nikon Z lenses - are they better than F Mount?

Nikon Z lenses - are they better than F Mount?

Saturday, 27 October 2018 12:47

Nikon has been promoting the larger diameter and shorter flange distance of the Z mount, and how this will allow more lens designs, easier design, better optics, faster AF and edge to edge sharpness. But are they actually better?

Read more...