Nikon 18-300 f3.5-5.6G ED VR - Preview

Thursday, 14 June 2012 06:47

This new killer DX zoom from Nikon is sure to be a big hit

PRE ORDER NOW

I support local buying. In Australia see DCW: http://goo.gl/RvqLD

Or Adorama: http://goo.gl/Sk1Xe

Share:

4 comments

  • Comment Link Ragnar Thorarensen Friday, 22 June 2012 14:51 posted by Ragnar Thorarensen

    Hi Matt.

    I just bought a Nikon d7000 plus the 18-105mm kit lens and the 55-300mm lens. Should I sell one of them or both and buy this 18-300mm instead?

    Ragnar

    Report
  • Comment Link Ron Wednesday, 27 June 2012 09:43 posted by Ron

    @Ragnar: Lenses tend to have worse image quality as the amount of zoom increases. You should wait for some reviews, but I don't think the 18-300mm will have stellar image quality. It is also $1000 and weighs more than 800 grams. I think your current setup will have considerably higher image quality in a lighter package.

    Personally, I would replace the 18-105mm with a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 non-VC, or add the 35mm f/1.8. Heck, if you have $1000 to spend, get a second hand Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8.

    Do you need 300mm? If so, the 55-300mm is good value. I don't need that much reach, so I use the new 85mm f/1.8 on my D7000 instead.

    Report
  • Comment Link The Internets Wednesday, 27 June 2012 23:21 posted by The Internets

    Yes, just buy it.

    Trust me, I know.

    Report
  • Comment Link Gerrit Riemer Friday, 29 June 2012 17:13 posted by Gerrit Riemer

    Hello Matt,
    Love your reviews - living in Holland, though.
    I bought last monday Nikor 70-300. I can still change my mind and get the new 18-300, costing me more.
    I feel attrackted by it's size and not to need exchange lenses all the time.The money is not a real issue, I just want to get the lens that is good for me and stays with me for the next 15 years or so.
    What should you do?

    Report

Leave a comment

FujiFilm X-H2S -  Has Fuji lost it's essence?

FujiFilm X-H2S - Has Fuji lost it's essence?

Friday, 24 June 2022 09:00

Incredible Specs - but this has moved away from the Fuji I love and is more like a mini Sony...

Read more...
Nikon 400mm f4.5 VR S - Hands On Preview

Nikon 400mm f4.5 VR S - Hands On Preview

Wednesday, 22 June 2022 03:26

400mm f4.5 - smaller, lighter.... better?

Read more...
How to Add Smoke and Fog to Photos & Video (Smoke Genie)

How to Add Smoke and Fog to Photos & Video (Smoke Genie)

Tuesday, 14 June 2022 03:23

Full testing of this new portable Smoke Machine.

Read more...
Cinematic Filter Comparison - 13 models compared

Cinematic Filter Comparison - 13 models compared

Tuesday, 07 June 2022 11:48

Which look do you prefer?

Read more...
The Most Innovative Lens of 2022 - 24mm 2x Macro Periprobe

The Most Innovative Lens of 2022 - 24mm 2x Macro Periprobe

Tuesday, 31 May 2022 19:36

A clever reinvention of a modern classic.

Read more...
What's in my Bag - 2022 Iceland trip

What's in my Bag - 2022 Iceland trip

Sunday, 15 May 2022 17:06

My Biggest Nikon Kit EVER!

Read more...
SUPER TELE REVIEW - Nikon NIKKOR Z 800mm f/6.3

SUPER TELE REVIEW - Nikon NIKKOR Z 800mm f/6.3

Wednesday, 11 May 2022 01:54

1600mm portraits - why not!?

Read more...
Z9 v2.0 - Pre-Release Capture Test & RAW Video Samples

Z9 v2.0 - Pre-Release Capture Test & RAW Video Samples

Tuesday, 19 April 2022 12:25

Testing the new features of Firmware v2.0

Read more...
Convert your Film Camera to Digital!

Convert your Film Camera to Digital!

Monday, 11 April 2022 06:33

Capture Digital images on your film camera - it's finally here!

Read more...