Nikon 18-300 f3.5-5.6G ED VR - Preview

Thursday, 14 June 2012 06:47

This new killer DX zoom from Nikon is sure to be a big hit

PRE ORDER NOW

I support local buying. In Australia see DCW: http://goo.gl/RvqLD

Or Adorama: http://goo.gl/Sk1Xe

Share:

4 comments

  • Comment Link Ragnar Thorarensen Friday, 22 June 2012 14:51 posted by Ragnar Thorarensen

    Hi Matt.

    I just bought a Nikon d7000 plus the 18-105mm kit lens and the 55-300mm lens. Should I sell one of them or both and buy this 18-300mm instead?

    Ragnar

    Report
  • Comment Link Ron Wednesday, 27 June 2012 09:43 posted by Ron

    @Ragnar: Lenses tend to have worse image quality as the amount of zoom increases. You should wait for some reviews, but I don't think the 18-300mm will have stellar image quality. It is also $1000 and weighs more than 800 grams. I think your current setup will have considerably higher image quality in a lighter package.

    Personally, I would replace the 18-105mm with a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 non-VC, or add the 35mm f/1.8. Heck, if you have $1000 to spend, get a second hand Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8.

    Do you need 300mm? If so, the 55-300mm is good value. I don't need that much reach, so I use the new 85mm f/1.8 on my D7000 instead.

    Report
  • Comment Link The Internets Wednesday, 27 June 2012 23:21 posted by The Internets

    Yes, just buy it.

    Trust me, I know.

    Report
  • Comment Link Gerrit Riemer Friday, 29 June 2012 17:13 posted by Gerrit Riemer

    Hello Matt,
    Love your reviews - living in Holland, though.
    I bought last monday Nikor 70-300. I can still change my mind and get the new 18-300, costing me more.
    I feel attrackted by it's size and not to need exchange lenses all the time.The money is not a real issue, I just want to get the lens that is good for me and stays with me for the next 15 years or so.
    What should you do?

    Report

Leave a comment

The ULTIMATE USB-C Hub / Dongle

The ULTIMATE USB-C Hub / Dongle

Thursday, 22 June 2017 01:24

We compare over 20 devices and show you which are fastest & most stable options for mobile and in office use.

Read more...
2017 MacBook Pro Review - Should You Upgrade?

2017 MacBook Pro Review - Should You Upgrade?

Sunday, 18 June 2017 01:34

New Kaby Lake processors are here - does it mean much??

Read more...
Dear Nikon...

Dear Nikon...

Monday, 08 May 2017 15:49

What would YOU like to see from Nikon?

Read more...
Sony A9 - Is it a true Pro Option??

Sony A9 - Is it a true Pro Option??

Wednesday, 26 April 2017 04:51

CRAZY specs, dual cards, bigger batteries - is this everything Sony users have been asking for?

Read more...
Fuji GFX new lenses and roadmap

Fuji GFX new lenses and roadmap

Wednesday, 19 April 2017 08:35

GREAT to see Fujifilm being open with customers about the roadmap.

Read more...
8K - The Future of Video Resolution

8K - The Future of Video Resolution

Tuesday, 18 April 2017 08:28

8K video is 4 times higher resolution than 4K and 16 times the size of 1080!

Read more...
Nikon D7500 Preview (Vs D7200 & D500)

Nikon D7500 Preview (Vs D7200 & D500)

Wednesday, 12 April 2017 19:52

WHO IS THIS CAMERA AIMED AT? Maybe VLOGGERS? Hikers wanting the lightest camera possible?

Read more...
Hand Painted Photography Backdrops

Hand Painted Photography Backdrops

Tuesday, 28 March 2017 20:52

I just set up 3 unique hand painted backdrops from Gravity backdrops in Europe

Read more...
Lowepro SlingShot 302 - hands on review

Lowepro SlingShot 302 - hands on review

Thursday, 26 March 2015 20:31

My first ever video...

Read more...